Back to All Events

Bravest of the Brave

Bravest of the Brave tells the story of eight South Australian men who were awarded the Victoria Cross for their heroic deeds during the First World War (1914-1918).

Bravest of the Brave is the story of eight ordinary men - Arthur Blackburn, Phillip Davey, Roy Inwood, Jorgen Jensen, John Leak, Arthur Sullivan, Lawrence Weathers and James Park Woods - who on one day of their lives, under extraordinary circumstances, demonstrated extraordinary heroism for their comrades and country.

The exhibition gives an introduction to the First World War and South Australia's part in the conflict, as well as a brief history of the Victoria Cross, a short profile of each of the eight men and a final concluding section.